News & Events

Professor Joel Lee’s Book Publication

We are excited to announce the publication of Prof. Joel Lee’s book, Deceptive Majority: Dalits, Hinduism, and Underground Religion, with Cambridge University Press! The idea that India is a Hindu majority nation rests on the assumption that the vast swath of its population stigmatized as ‘untouchable’ is,… Continue reading »

Interview with Kim Gutschow

Kim Gutschow, Williams lecturer in religion and anthropology/sociology, along with Robbie Davis-Floyd, senior research fellow in the department of anthropology at the University of Texas-Austin, and David Schwartz, Clinical Professor at the Medical College of Georgia, look into how U.S. maternity care practices changed due to Covid-19. Continue reading »

Giebien Na interviews Professor James Nolan

My name is Giebien Na, and I graduated Williams College in June 2020. I recently talked to Chair of Anthropology and Sociology and Washington Gladden Professor of Sociology James Nolan about a subject near to his heart that has been garnering national attention. Read our conversation below! Hi Professor Nolan!… Continue reading »

2020 Advising Information

All rising juniors interested in majoring in Anthropology or Sociology should reach out to one of the Department’s members for advising between August 3 and August 13. The form for major declaration is available here. Contact information of the faculty available for advising is listed below. We look forward… Continue reading »

2020 Friedrichs and Orton Prize winners announced

The Friedrichs Award in Sociology went to Sally Walker, who defended her thesis on US media responses to gun violence in America. The Orton Prize in Anthropology was awarded to Meklit Tesfaye, who wrote her thesis on the chronic illness experiences among Ethiopian immigrant women, and is now heading to… Continue reading »

ANSO Class of 2020

  To the extraordinary ANSO Class of 2020: We have often remarked upon your strength in numbers, and indeed, 23 of you will cross the threshold on Sunday to become Williams alumni.  This weekend, though, we are reflecting on your qualitative strengths.  Over the past four years, you have consistently… Continue reading »

ANSO Thesis Students 2020

Three wonderful ANSO seniors worked tirelessly on their theses, and completed them despite all the disruptions and challenges of this year. The department is thrilled to award Honors to them: Ally Alvarez, “The Racial Politics of the Russian Disinformation Campaign During the 2016 U.S. Presidential Election” (with Prof. Snyder) Meklit… Continue reading »

A word to our Seniors

As our Senior class members, along with the rest of the Williams community, are transitioning into working on their classes remotely, we want to express our special appreciation of this fantastic cohort, pictured here after the last on-campus meeting of the Senior Seminar with Prof. Christina Simko (top row, second… Continue reading »

  • 1
  • 2
  • 9